Namur 2 : me 0

Posted: June 30, 2011 in Live Qualifiers & Cashgame, Namur (Belgium)
Tags: , , , , ,

I am yet unsure what was more frustrating last nite: going down the Belgium and Luxembourgish highways with a speedlimit of 130km/h for a combined total of four hours or to see bad players winning huge pots in crucial spots and/or beating me. But first things first…

As mentioned in the last blog post I made my second trip to the Belgian Poker Series (BPS) Finale 60 € Rebuy Satellite in Namur for this year to qualify for the 1,700 € Main Event even before the project has started. Arriving a couple of minutes after the tourney has already started, I was able to buy into the tourney as one of the very last of the 60 players. I was seated at table 16, which is actually one of my lucky numbers, but my starting stack of 1,500 chips were soon moved over to one of my villains, when I lost with QQ to Q10 and his flush on the turn. Nothing to worry about, double rebuy for 100 € and soon after that my stack climbed to 4,500 with KQ vs. Q10 on a Q-high board.

I went into the addon break with just above 4,000 and received additional 3,000 for another 50 €, which summed up costs of 210 € for the satellite. Watching quite a few interesting plays and hands at the table, I felt save enough to not protect my top set kings against the table donk (and obviously massive chipleader) with two  on the flop, raising preflop of course. He kept betting into me, I just called his flop and turn bets to reraise allin on the river, which he did not call –> 10,100 stack, the highest I ever got. Two orbits and one 1,200 call (= 3x BB) with A out-of-position against three other players later (fold to bet on K-high flop, no flushdraw), I was back down to a stack 7,500.

Cards came and went, but no hands I liked were dealt to me, so I decided to take a shot at an unraised pot with A9 from midde position by raising it to slightly more than three times the big blind. The Hijack and the small blind answered with allins, my plan did not work out and I folded to see the bigger stack win with pocket queens vs. pocket jacks. Just the next hand, 5,500 left, UTG+1 shoved his 4,500 allin and the already above mentioned table donk called directly to my right. Sitting in the big blind I looked into AKo and instantly shoved as well. Table donk called and I was kind of relaxed to me battling vs. AJo and KJo. Combined 23 % odds of winning the hand for my villains were enough to bust me due to a J on the flop and no improvement whatsoever for me.

“Nice Hand, good game, Bonne Nuit et a la prochaine!”

Leave a Reply

